"". Cut Two Pieces: Inkscape
Showing posts with label Inkscape. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Inkscape. Show all posts

Saturday, 19 May 2012

Projects using Extrude in Inkscape

Cutter files created using ‘extrude’ in Inkscape. I have only shown a few examples and there are so many other possibilities. You can create stained glass type designs, windows and gems. Experiment and see what you can create.
extrude
I haven’t shown examples but experiment with flipping one of the shapes vertical or horizontal. The two shapes look the same until you apply extrude. Or, try more than two shapes or place them side by side.

The steps will be the same regardless of the location of the shapes used. Open Inkscape and give it a try.

Below is a pictorial showing the steps I use. 
extrude1
extrude2
extrude3
extrude4
My written instructions and images are not to be posted anywhere else on the internet. Before I make a video I spend a lot of time testing out the possibilities and problems that you may encounter. I write these tutorials to help people who are learning to use Inkscape. I do not make them for others to take credit and post as their own on websites and forums. Don't get me wrong. I don't mind the information being shared. I am against people who claim my work as their own.

Monday, 14 May 2012

Lattice Created Using the Path Effect - Construct Grid

I have been experimenting with the Path Effects in Inkscape to see how they can be used to create cutting files. I discovered Construct Grid can be used to create basic lattice shapes.

I have uploaded a video showing how easy it is to create lattice using this method. Under the video you will find written instructions to save you taking notes.

Written Instructions.
My written instructions and images are not to be posted anywhere else on the internet. Before I make a video I spend a lot of time testing out the possibilities and problems that you may encounter. I write these tutorials to help people who are learning to use Inkscape. I do not make them for others to take credit and post as their own on websites and forums. Don't get me wrong. I don't mind the information being shared. I am against people who claim my hard work as their own.

Tuesday, 1 May 2012

Circular Mats with a Knot Design

Create great looking designs in Inkscape just by using tiled clones and the knot effect. A few samples are shown below.
The mat using the square design is being offered as a free download in SVG format and can be found here.
sample images
Video tutorial
Written instructions.
nt1
nt2
nt3
nt4
nt5
nt6
nt7
nt8
nt9
nt10

Friday, 20 April 2012

Inkscape–from Spiral to Spider Web

A few nights ago I was playing with the spiral feature in Inkscape and ended up with a design that reminded my of a spider web. I decided I would start with a new spiral and see how it could be achieved. If you want to design a simple web for a project you will find this method is fast and easy to create.
After working out how to change a spiral to a web I continued testing other methods to see if I could make a web where I had more control over the design. I will be posting my results as a separate post. Meanwhile I will show you how I changed a spiral to a web.

Video

Written Information

sw1
sw2
sw3
sw4
sw5
sw6
sw7
Extra information if you need to locate the node editing items I used in my project
stl
insert new nodes

Monday, 4 October 2010

Scalloped Circles Using Tiled Clones with Rotate.

I have uploaded a few new videos to You Tube featuring tiled clones with rotate. This particular video and pictorial show how to create scalloped circles for your projects. I like this method as the circles do not get distorted.
The following steps are a guideline and may be easier to follow if you watch the video first.


The same two circles can be used to create many different scalloped circles just by changing the location of the smaller circle and the number of columns used. Example shown below.

Remember, if you do change the location of the small circles to relocate the rotational centre. To have the small circles follow the perimeter of the larger circle the centres must be in the same location.

Friday, 6 August 2010

Nested Shapes Using Tiled Clones.

Two videos showing how you can use tiled clones in Inkscape to create your own nested shapes. Tiled clones are great for nested shapes as the new shapes are not distorted.

The first video is great if you like to design using stroke. If you prefer your nested shapes in full colour you may find the second video is more suitable.



Saturday, 17 July 2010

Fill Setting in Inkscape

Do you ever draw a series of shapes or write text only to get spaces where they overlap when you apply path>combine? You may find this happens when using path effects such as interpolate sub-paths and pattern along path. It is easy to change in the Fill and Stroke settings.

Open Fill and Stroke
Select the Fill tab
At the top right corner there are two options.
- The image with an open section will result in gaps where objects overlap.
- The shape that is solid will give a solid looking result when you apply path>combine.
A few examples.
 A few more examples. All of them are fixed by changing the same setting.

Monday, 17 May 2010

Tiled Clones with Rotate.

I use tiled clones with rotate when creating circular designs. I have made a video to show the basic steps. There are way too many options to show on one video, so go ahead and experiment and find out how easy it is to use when creating files for your cutter.
 
Draw your shape
Move the centre of the shape, so it rotates from the new centre.
Open tiled clones Edit>Clone>Create Tiled Clones
Change settings as shown below, then click on Create.
Unlink the clones and apply Path>Union.
Save file.
 

I would then use the design as a stencil as shown in the example below.
A few more ideas for using tiled clones with rotate.
Draw a few shapes and apply Path>Union (Path>Combine also works the same).
The two examples below use the same group of stars. In the second example I flipped the group of stars vertical and then created the tiled clones with rotate.

Another example that would be great for creating rhinestone designs. Draw circles in different sizes, align and apply Path>Union. Move the centrepoint and clone tiles with rotate as described above.
I have only shown a few examples and there are so many other possibilities. I would love to see any projects you create using tiled clones with rotate.
Please feel free to share this information to help others learn Inkscape. If you post this information on another blog, please reference this post. If you let me know I will add a link to your post on the subject so people have a wider base to learn from.